What's the purpose of the Auto Unlock functionality?

The Auto Unlock enables you to unlock your bike without taking your phone out of your pocket. Your phone automatically connects to your bike in background when you get nearby. Then simply move your bike to unlock it, and you're ready to ride.

How can I access this feature?

Auto Unlock is available for both Cowboy 3 and Cowboy 2 users. It is supported on the iOS app v2.10.0+, Android app v2.8.0+ and firmware v4.8.0+. Once you're running compatible app and firmware, go in Your bike > Settings > Auto Unlock to activate the Auto Unlock functionality for your bike.

How does it work?

On iOS

Bluetooth must be enabled and the Cowboy app must stay open in background in order for the Auto Unlock to work. We thus advise you to always keep your bluetooth on and not force quit the app when you finish a ride. You can still restart your phone whenever you want without impacting the Auto Unlock feature, as the background apps will be reopened automatically.

Note that in Low Power Mode, iOS might at some point decide to kill background tasks to save more power. If that happens, simply unlock your bike manually. The same behavior happens when the Background App Refresh setting of your Cowboy app is disabled.

Once you'll end a ride, we'll wait 2 minutes before reenabling the Auto Unlock so you can lock your bike with ease without turning it back on unintentionally. You can still turn on your bike manually through the app whenever you fancy.

On Android

Bluetooth must be enabled in order for the Auto Unlock to work so we advise you to always keep it on. The Auto Unlock will work equally well when your app is open in foreground, in background or even when you force quit it.

You'll notice that a special notification will appear to keep the app running and keep the connection with your bike alive. You can make those notifications more discrete by updating the settings of the Auto Unlock notifications category. Set them to Silent to turn off any sound or vibration, and select the Minimize option to collapse the notifications to one line and hide the lock icon in your status bar. We don't recommend you to fully disable those notifications as it might prevent the Auto Unlock functionality from working when your app is running in background or force quit, depending on your phone manufacturer.

Once you'll end a ride, we'll wait 2 minutes before reenabling the Auto Unlock so you can lock your bike with ease without turning it back on unintentionally. You can still turn on your bike manually through the app whenever you fancy.

Can I also Auto Lock my bike?

You can use the Auto Lock timer to turn off your bike automatically 5 minutes, 10 minutes or 30 minutes after you stop pedaling. Pick the right setting for you in Your bike > Settings > Auto Lock timer.

Not willing to wait? You can still manually lock your bike through the app — as always. You can also remove your battery with your key to shut down your bike without using the app.

What's the impact of the Auto Unlock on the battery consumption?

The impact on your smartphone's battery is minimal.

Did this answer your question?